Return to Acer XS Thriver
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Fairway Finder!! October 4, 2015
Reviewer: James  
I came on here to write a review of this head after playing with it today, but first I thought I'd glance at some other reviews to see what everyone else said, and I laughed when I read Christoper's review from 7/18/15 because it is almost VERBATIM what I was going to write! I too just finished my first full round with my Thriver. I had previously hit only hit maybe 20-30 balls with it at the range before, and occasionally on the course when it was a tight fairway or short hole. But today I decided to play the entire round with the Thriver because - like Christopher - my other driver has been misbehaving quite a bit lately. I can poke a drive 280-300 yards on a good hit, but I'm usually only good for around 40-50% fairways hit. Well today, guess what? I hit every single fairway except one!! Not only did I hit almost all the fairways, but nearly every shot was DEAD STRAIGHT UP THE MIDDLE and about 250-260 yards. And the one fairway I missed was only a few yards into the rough. Plus, there was about a 20-30mph wind which would push everyone's drives all over the place if they had even the slightest fade or draw on them. But I didn't have a problem, because every single one of my drives was perfectly straight right where I was aiming. I was afraid the Thriver wouldn't be as long as I needed it to be, but I was keeping up with (and sometimes outdriving) all the other guys in my group who were playing regular drivers. Hell, it almost got boring by the end of the round just having everything go straight up the middle every time! :) I paired mine up with an SK FIber Tour Trac 90 shaft, stiff flex, 43.5" Length, and I can't say enough good things about that setup. If you have a fast swing and smooth tempo like me (mine is 105mph with driver, and about a 1.25 sec tempo) then I'd grab one of those shafts for $20 while they last! It is an insanely good shaft for the money. The radial CPM of those shafts is +/- 1 CPM in any direction, so they are very consistent and the quality control of SK Fiber is second to none. If you have heard of these Thrivers but just haven't pulled the trigger on one yet, or if you haven't heard of them and you're reading about them here for the first time, I wouldn't waste one more minute debating whether or not to buy one. JUST DO IT. As long as you get the right shaft for your swing, I can pretty much guarantee you will improve your scores by hitting a lot more fairways.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
fantastic July 8, 2015
Reviewer: Christopher  
i've been struggling with my driver for a couple years, i bought a jetspeed taylor made about 6 months ago. i've had mixed results with this, some corking long drives over 300 yards, but mostly i'm left right etc. i miss too many fairways! i just finished my first 18 with the xs thriver, 14 degree, with the acer velocity white shaft, cut to stiff, at 44 inches. i repeatedly hit the center of the club face, and hit just about all the fairways! my misses (if you could call them that) were minimal and did not put me in any danger. i cannot believe that i just had 75% genuine fairways. 2 of my drives were between 251 and 260, 6 of my drives were between 240 and 250, and the others were mixed but all over 220. the game is so much easier playing from the fairway! I'll be playing again tomorrow and will report on any differences. i'm kind of in shell shock at what just happened!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
SWEET! April 13, 2015
Reviewer: James  
Unbelievable fit and finish to this 14 degree custom-designed club. Solid feel to contact, very repeatable. Not one true slice! glad I spent less than $150 on a really nice driver! OEM makers of clubs should be ashamed to charge $400 - $500 for their stuff. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
thriver December 22, 2014
Reviewer: turbo  
Received my Thriver on Thursday played golf on Saturday first tee straight down the middle had nice smooth swing once I got warmed up a little was hooking the ball a little have regular shaft maybe I should have stayed with stiff shaft but I will get use to it need too stay in the swing and not try too out driver my golfing buddies with this one.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Disappointed. Not what I had hoped. December 2, 2014
Reviewer: Wilber  
Since I was having trouble keeping my drives in the fairway, I thought I'd give the Thriver a try. I also have the Power Play Caiman Raw Power #3 metal (old model), so I thought that with the Thriver having 1 degree less loft and two inches longer shaft, I'd get more distance than with the Caiman *and* hit more fairways than with my driver. I've used the Thriver for eight rounds, and it is leaving my bag. True, I hit more fairways than with my old driver, but, to my surprise I was losing 5-8 yards on drives compared to the #3 Caiman. Go figure! Plus, I can't really use the Thriver as a fairway wood as I can with the Caiman.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Amazing Club...Where Have You Been All My Life?? October 16, 2014
Reviewer: Jeff  
Simply amazing feel. I have been playing for about 2 years using irons and wedges only. Three months ago I started learning how to hit fairway woods. The occasional times I tried to use a driver out of curiosity it was a disaster. Modern drivers are, as my dad would say, too much car for me to handle. After listening to the sales pitch above I took the plunge. Wow. First swing on the range I carried a draw 220 yards easy (I am a left handed golfer) and then it rolled until it disappeared. I have never hit a ball that far or that pretty before. Subsequent balls were not as pretty but they all carried 200 yards easy. Out of 20 balls that I hit I only hooked 3! I can't wait to try it on the course....since I play from the forward tees...the Thriver should give me enough distance and positioning to go for birdies and pars and drop that handicap! The club feels so good. Effortless swing 75-80% produces long ball flight. I can't imagine what a person who knows what they are doing could do with this club..... Thanks for saving me hundreds of dollars and dozens of golf balls.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Forget the driver May 21, 2014
Reviewer: james  
Put this club together with a steel shaft. Used it three times. First time just on the back nine, hit 7 out of 7 fairways. Second time on the front nine, 6 out of 6. Yesterday left the tm driver in the trunk, 14 out of 14. It goes just as far as my driver went. Played with the longest driver in our group, single digit handicap. Out drove him several times, stayed with him the rest. Guess what, now i have to make him one. Thanks for this club. Best score for nine, 38. Doubled a par 3.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Played 9 holes today April 28, 2014
Reviewer: Frank  
Today was the first time I played with my new driver...I hit 7 fairways....I have a slow swing speed..my drives were from 180 to 195 yards...straight down the middle...I am a happy camper.....

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
so far so good April 19, 2014
Reviewer: Frank  
I received the club on Friday ...went to the range today...and wow...my drives were straight and far.the Acer XS Thriver is 44" long.....my old driver which is 45/3/4" long was all over the place...I am a senior so I had a senior shaft installed...works for me....

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
My favorite tee club February 24, 2014
Reviewer: Joseph  
I bought an XS Thriver with an Acer Velocity shaft. 44" trimmed to firm flex (between R and S). I love this club. My best drives roll out to the 260 yard range and I rarely hit drivers any farther than that. This thing is solid and has a good sound. Easy to control and great to look at. Made a believer out of me. I'm 6'2" and 63 years old. Thanks for keeping me in the fairway Acer.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items